Count down to Quatar 2022:How the World Cup Trophy was stolen

The Jules Rimet Trophy and the World Cup

Spread the news.

By C.E Ejoh

As the Count down to the FIFA World Cup to be hosted in Quatar in November 20 to December 18,2022   gathers momentum ,your favorite News Medium through its sports desk: EAGLE EYE SPORTS NEWS24 will be giving you all the details,issues,news and historical perspectives of the global sports event.Like we promise you our sports fans beginning from Thursday 27 November that everything you need to know will be brought to your doorstep.

Today I will be giving you one of the historical perspectives of the the World Cup Trophy , how it has gone through various shades of experience ,even to the point of been stolen on various occasion until it was kept for keeps after football giant Brazil won the World Cup on three occasions in 1958,1962 and 1970 which enabled them as of that time to keep the trophy permanently before the rules were later changed.

Please ride on with me on this fascinating journey to the start of the world’s greatest sporting fiesta,I remain your driver,C.E Ejoh.    

The original Cup

From 1930 to 1970, the Jules Rimet Trophy was awarded to the winner of the World Cup of Football. Originally called “Victory”, the trophy more commonly known as the ‘World Cup’ or ‘Coupe du Monde’ though it was renamed in 1946 after the FIFA president Jules Rimet who organized the first tournament.

Protecting the Cup in the 1940s

To prevent the Naziz(Germans) from confiscating the golden Jules Rimet Trophy,Dr.Ottorino Berrasi,an Italian sports official,smuggled the trophy from the bank in Rome,and hid it under his  bed for  most of the war time before the 1950 World Cup.

1966 World Cup Stolen

The Jules Rimet World Cup trophy was stolen while on exhibition in London just before kick-off of the 1966 finals in England. The name of the mongrel dog who sniffed out the stolen trophy from its hiding place under a garden hedge in Norwood in South London was called ‘Pickles’. His owner David Corbett collected a monetary gift of GBP 6,000 reward, and the man who had demanded a GBP15,000 ransom for the return of the trophy was jailed for two years.

Brazil’s trophy stolen in 1983

After the Jules Rimet trophy was paraded by the Brazilian players after the 1970 Final match, the top of the trophy disappeared. Brazilian reserve player Davio retrieved the valuable gold top from a young spectator at the stadium exit. As a result, the new trophy was designed to have no top!

The Jules Rimet trophy was awarded to the winner but not kept by the winning team. The trophy was only permanently awarded if the team becomes 3-time champions. In 1970, Brazil’s third victory in the tournament entitled them to keep the trophy permanently. This particular trophy, however, was stolen in 1983, and the current location of the trophy is unknown.

The trophy was stolen from a display box in the headquarters of the Brazilian Football Association in Rio on 20 December 1983, and was probably melted down afterwards. A copy, made by a German goldsmith, was donated to the Brazilian Football Association by Kodak of Brazil.

A new trophy

After 1970, a new trophy, known as the FIFA World Cup Trophy, was designed. Constructed in 18-karat solid gold, the trophy is 36 centimeters (14 inches) tall, has two rings in malachite inlaid in the base, and weighs a total of 4,970 grams (11 pounds). The new trophy was designed by Silvio Gazzaniga (and submitted by Bertoni of Milan, Italy). Gazzaniga’s design was chosen by FIFA from 53 other trophy models presented. Gazzaniga described his work by saying.

 “The lines spring out of the base, rising in spirals, stretching out to receive the world. From the remarkable dynamic tensions of the compact body of the sculpture rise the figures of two athletes at the stirring moment of victory.”

The new trophy is not awarded to the winning nation permanently, no matter how many World Cups they win. The original trophy remains in FIFA’s possession, while the winning National Association receives a gold-plated replica. A new World Cup trophy will be required for 2042, as the name plaque at base of the current trophy is designed to be filled up by names of the 17 champions from 1974 to 2038.

Therefore in 2042, a new trophy will be used, and the old trophy will then be kept at the FIFA headquarters permanently.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *